The 5 Best Decisions I Have Made While Teaching Online

Hello there everyone! Thank you so much for choosing to stop by my blog today. I’m going to be briefly discussing my recent experience with teaching online during the Covid-19 pandemic, and listing what, in my opinion, were the 5 best decisions I made for myself and my students during this difficult time.

Let’s be honest for a minute: Teaching online is not easy, ideal, or something that many teachers would choose for themselves or their class. However, with the recent rises in Covid-19 cases, virtual teaching is the best option for my own health, my family, and my students. I was also recently fortunate enough to be offered a virtual Special Education teaching position, and the peace of mind of knowing that everyone I love and care about is being protected is absolutely priceless. While I started the journey feeling overwhelmed and unsure of where to start, I have been spending the past several weeks getting used to the changes, getting to know my new students, and finding ways to stay calm and happy throughout this difficult time. Without further ado, here are the 5 best choices I have made for my students and myself while teaching using Google Classroom:

  1. Routines, Routines, Routines: My students, like the vast majority of school-aged children, thrive on routine. They like to know what to expect and what is coming next, and as their teacher, I try to provide them with as much of this predictability as I can. We begin every morning with our national anthem, a “Brain Break” to give the class a few minutes of movement, and a read-aloud video. We then complete a Writing task (which changes each day, but is consistent week by week. For example, they always complete a journal writing exercise on Monday, practice their printing on Tuesdays and Thursdays, etc.), and end our Language period with virtual centre activities on Google Slides. My Math block follows a similar pattern of routine, and I find that it helps my students to stay calm and focused throughout each school day.
  2. Community Building: Each day, I try to complete a simple, fun activity to help build a sense of community amongst my students, even though we are learning and working in an online setting. This varies, and most recently, has included a game I call “This or That.” It is essentially a version of “Would you Rather,” where I present two options to my students (E.g., vanilla or chocolate ice cream? Prodigy or Epic Books? Math or Science? Indoor or Outdoor recess?), and they must choose their favourite, then explain the choice. The kids always have fun with this one, and have taken to choosing their own topics for questions as well. It helps them to bond with their peers, practice turn taking and listening skills, and it is an easy tool for getting to know my students better as well.
  3. Being Resourceful: Whether it’s pre-made Google Slides activities, coding websites with ready-to-go games, lessons, and videos, or most recently, a free virtual field trip, I am constantly on the lookout for ways to make planning easier for myself, and to make the online school experience more engaging and fun for my students.
  4. Reaching Out: Teaching Special Education is still quite new for me, so I am never afraid to ask my administrative team for help when I am feeling uncertain or overwhelmed. They are always happy to assist where they can, and to me, it does not demonstrate any form of weakness. It shows that I care about my students, I care about the work that I do, and I want to ensure that I am fulfilling my responsibilities in the best way that I possibly can.
  5. Setting Time Boundaries: In recent weeks, I have stopped answering work emails after about 5pm. I do not work late into the night anymore either, like I did during my first long-term teaching assignment. I allow myself at least one day on the weekend to de-stress and unwind, and overall, these work-life boundaries have not only been improving my mental health and emotional well-being, but they have been transforming the way that I approach both the students that I teach, and the various other responsibilities that my job entails. I find that I am able to stay calmer throughout the day, give more kindness and patience to my students and my family, and in addition, still find some time to relax and take part in the hobbies that I enjoy. It took me a very long time to come to a place where I can allow myself time to exhale in the evenings and on weekends, but it has truly helped me to be a better teacher, and it has made teaching online just a little bit less overwhelming.

I hope that you enjoyed this post, and found something useful if you too are trying to navigate being an educator in an online world. Have a fantastic rest of your weekend, and stay safe!

Leave a comment